Interview

Alumni Interview: Louiza Voorthuijsen from XITE

Louiza tells us everything about her job at the international music video brand XITE and her history with the MAA. Thank you Louiza for your interesting answers!

I think most of us already know about XITE, but for those who don’t, can you tell something more about XITE?

XITE is an international music video brand. We broadcast music videos through our TV-channel twenty-four hours a day. But the media landscape and our consumers are very dynamic. Therefore, we introduced a personalised music service, which makes it possible for consumers to like and skip music videos. We also have online channels where publish music-related content. The unique thing is that we execute the production ourselves.

That sounds like a very interesting company to work for! Can you tell something more about your function?

I work in the sales department. My title is officially ‘Manager Content & Brand Partnerships’ but I realise that this may sound a bit vague. Ultimately, I’m responsible for collaborations between XITE and brands. Check out the really innovative and successful collaboration between XITE and H&M here*:

* Sorry, the video is Dutch.

Can you name 3 characteristics that you definitely need for your function?
It is really important that you keep your knowledge up to date about the changing media landscape and our consumers.  Our target group is young adults and it is essential to really know the target group. Besides, my function requires a lot of empathy.  I work intensively together with other brands and advertisers so I have to recognise opportunities for them as well. And at the very least you need to be flexible, sometimes it is really busy.

How do you see the future of watching TV? Sometimes it looks like young adults are watching less TV.

I recognise that too, but the big screen will always be popular and there is still a TV present in almost every household. Although, I do believe that the way young adults watch TV has changed and therefore we introduced personalised music service. Consumers can like and skip music videos and create their personalised channel on XITE television. Furthermore, we’re constantly looking for new possibilities like a mobile application.

Why are music videos so important?

For music artists it is quite difficult to have a face nowadays. Maybe people recognize the song, but not the artist.  It is not only important for the artist but also for youth culture. For instance, think about the music videos of Madonna and the way she shed light on important social themes.

Can you tell us something about your history with the MAA?

Of course! I was an active member and chairman for the Marketing Beyond Borders (this is now called Careers Beyond Borders) committee. It was the first edition and we went to Dusseldorf.  And the skiing holiday and drinks were always very nice haha.

What did you learn from your role as chairman of the committee?

I really learnt how to work together because you have to deal with different personalities.  I still have to work a lot together in my current job, so it comes in handy. Additionally, I learnt how to motivate people. And this is also still very important in my current job. I can have nice ideas but I must convince my colleagues and have their support to carry out the idea. The MAA also helped to get me out of my comfort zone.

Finally, do you have some tips for students looking for a first job?

I think the most important thing is to look what your personal capabilities are. When you’ve got this clear you can find a job which suits you best. Personality test and talking to people can help you with this.

Written by Leonie Douma

Leave a Reply

